XIX NATIONAL CONFERENCE
XIX NATIONAL CONFERENCE

Theme: HEALTHCARE FINANCING AND WELFARE MODELS IN THE ERA OF LONGEVITY

Location: Ca’Foscari University  of Venice, Department of Economics

Dates: 27 – 28 October 2014

CONFERENCE PROGRAM

 Italian Health Economics Association invites researchers to investigate the role and sustainability of healthcare systems in the era of longevity. Contributions to the conference entitled can be either theoretical or empirical. Contributions addressing the following specific themes, identified within the main theme defined above, will be particularly welcome:

  • Ageing and sustainability of the health and social service systems
  • Epidemiological Evolution, Chronic Diseases and new forms of Care;  
  • Integration Models of Hospitals and Community Services;
  • Integration Models of Health and Social Services; 
  • Health Mobility;
  • Long-term Care; 
  • Cost of Illnesses;  
  • Health Technology Assessment; 
  • Life-style and Healthcare Policies;  
  • Relationship between Healthcare and Welfare Systems;  
  • Quality and Efficiency of Healthcare Services;

It is possible to present contributions not pertaining to the subject of the Conference that will be discussed during one or more “Free Theme” sessions.

The following are also planned:

  • Parallel theme sessions for oral presentations in Italian and English;
  • Poster Session;
  • One of more sessions, for Ph.D students and young research fellows, devoted to the presentation of a limited number of papers by young researchers and Ph.D. students selected by the Scientific Committee.  A discussant, chosen by the Scientific Committee from amongst those participating in the Conference, will be assigned to those contributions accepted for presentation at the special sessions;
  • Within the general theme of the Conference a special session is planned to discuss work using the Survey of Health, Ageing, and Retirement in Europe (SHARE) data.

Abstracts should be submitted by e-mail before June 30th 2014 to aies2014@unive.it . Abstracts (not exceeding 2 pages), should include:

•name(s) of author(s) and affiliation; author presenting the study should be marked with an asterisk; corresponding author’s e-mail address and telephone number;

•topic of the paper (choosing from the above-listed topics) or “open session”; 

•presentation format (oral, poster or doctoral & junior researchers session); 

•title, objectives, methodology and main content of the article; 

•literature and expected original contribution.

Authors who want to compete for the “AIES Young Researchers Award” must explicitly state it in their submissions and must present an original and unpublished paper at the conference. Authors must be all less than 35 years old, to be eligible for the award.

All abstracts will be reviewed by the Scientific Committee and acceptance/rejection will be communicated by July 31st, 2014. Review will consider consistency, methodological robustness and relevancy.

Contributions accepted will be either full papers for oral presentations or short communications for the poster sessions.

The Scientific Committee will allocate contributions to appropriate sessions, according to the subject discussed and methodology (theoretical analysis, empirical analysis, and institutional analysis).

Accepted papers must be submitted by e-mail to aies2014@unive.it by September 15th 2014.

 

SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE

Stefano Calciolari, Dipartimento di Economia, Università della Svizzera Italiana,  stefano.calciolari@usi.ch;

Cinzia Di Novi, Dipartimento di Economia, Università Ca’ Foscari di Venezia, cinzia.dinovi@unive.it;

Daniele Mascia, Istituto di Sanità Pubblica, Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, dmascia@rm.unicatt.it;

Dino Rizzi, Dipartimento di Economia, Università Ca’ Foscari di Venezia, dino.rizzi@unive.it.

ORGANIZATION COMMITEE

Enrica Croda, Dipartimento di Economia, Università Ca’ Foscari di Venezia, enrica.croda@unive.it;

Noemi Pace, Dipartimento di Economia, Università Ca’ Foscari di Venezia, noemi.pace @unive.it;

Giacomo Pasini, Dipartimento di Economia, Università Ca’ Foscari di Venezia, giacomo.pasini@unive.it;

Salvatore Russo, Dipartimento di Management, Università Ca’ Foscari di Venezia, salvus@unive.it;  

Francesca Zantomio, Dipartimento di Economia, Università Ca’ Foscari di Venezia, francesca.zantomio@unive.it.

 

ADMINISTRATIVE SECRETARY 

Vania Levorato, Dipartimento di Economia, Università Ca’ Foscari di Venezia,  lvania@unive.it;

Giulia Ortis, Fondazione Università Ca’ Foscari,  giulia.ortis@unive.it.

LOCATION

Università Ca’ Foscari,

Dipartimento di Economia, San Giobbe, 873, 

Cannaregio, Venezia

 

SUPPORTED BY

Università Ca’ Foscari, Regione Veneto, SHARE Italia